Dennis address delegates

Leadership Team & Staff

How We Are Organized

The 8,400 IAFF members in Washington State are organized into 116 union locals, which make up the WSCFF. Find a district map here. The locals are divided into 10 districts. Each district elects a representative to the WSCFF Board, which is made up of the 10 district representatives, a President, Secretary/Treasurer, and Vice President. Elections are held at an annual convention. Board members, all of whom are active or recently retired fire fighters, serve two-year terms. Three trustees, also elected by the membership, oversee the organization’s operations. An IAFF 7th District Vice President, elected by members in Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Alaska, works closely with the governing board and represents members at the international level.

WSCFF Legislative Liaisons

The WSCFF employs two legislative liaisons and a session lobbyist. Together with the President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Vice President, they serve as the legislative team. Based on resolutions adopted at convention, and recommendations from the district representatives, the team develops and implements political action programs for the members of the WSCFF. This includes researching, reviewing, and monitoring proposed legislation, meeting with legislators, providing briefings to members, and coordinating political endorsements.

Leadership Team

Dennis Lawson President
Greg Markley Secretary/Treasurer
Dean Shelton Vice-President/8th District
Ricky Walsh IAFF 7th District Vice President
Ryan Reese 1st District
Chris Ross 2nd District
Mike Westland 3rd District
Reed Astley 4th District
Tom Fields 5th District
Tim Hoover 6th District
Craig Becker 7th District
Jeff Wainwright 9th District
Matt Martens 10th District


John Gallup Trustee
Judson McCauley Trustee
Tom Reich Trustee

Legislative Liaisons

AJ Johnson Legislative Liaison
Bud Sizemore Legislative Liaison


Helen Kramer Executive Assistant
Debbie Guillot Admin Assistant, Legislative
Laura Holder Admin Assistant, Member Services
Therese Murphy Admin Assistant, Communications